Write or Die…and Futanari

‘Tis a thought that’s been running through my mind lately, this feeling that my head is so full of all these people that if I didn’t get them out in some fashion, it would feel like dying. I suppose if any of us didn’t get our characters out on paper/computer then they would (d’oh) die. And one character I’ve held onto for 20 years now, thinking she was fated for that, is now about to get her own 90,000+ novel.

She popped into my head one day whilst laying on my back, listening to Mazzy Star at my best mate’s house. I didn’t have the plot for her to go into, but she stuck around, never actually demanding her own story, more like just sitting there, drinking a cup of tea and looking very delicate and pensive.

Last year around Christmas time, it looked as though she would finally get her own story told. The only issue was her story is quite complicated and I was only writing erotica shorts. I was (as newbie writers do, I’d imagine)  going through all the tropes that other erotica writers said were popular: Gaywolves? Check. Monster sex? Check. Age gap? Check. Shifters? Erm..kind of check, it didn’t work out so well… (but I’ll get back to that). Futanari? well…

And that’s the thing. My little girl is a trans girl.

I was raised by a lesbian mother and surrounded by gay men and one very lovely transwoman growing up. Writing this in this style just didn’t feel right…it wasn’t right, at least not for me. My little transgirl deserved more, she was too important to do this to. So I stopped.

And she went and sat back on the bench, her plot mostly formed, the world she was to live in completely worked out except for one important figure in it. And that’s the thing as well, for me. I gave her one of my most important plot-lines, in a world I’ve lived in for over 10 years and has me homesick for every year.

I think she’s sat around long enough. So I’m beginning to write out her story, the warts and all. It shall be a romance, not an erotica. She’s been too important for that, she deserves the love of her life and she deserves a happy ending.

And so I shall give her a beginning.

One thought on “Write or Die…and Futanari

  1. The way I write, I let the characters loose to do whatever they want on paper. If they demand their own story I will write it.
    After the first Dana novel I killed her off because I didn’t know what else to do with her. But I had to bring her back because she was too good a character. She’s such a strong personality.
    And I never expected she’s trick her husband into getting transgendered but that’s what she did. That’s what happens when the characters write their own story.

Leave a Reply

